European Youth Championships 2015 (Bratislava, Slovakia)

Malta took part in the European Youth Championships which will be held in Bratislava. The Maltese team was composed of a Juniors and a Cadets team, coached by David Pace and Mario Genovese respectively.

From left to right: David Pace (coach), Sacha Pace, Christian Degiorgio, Miguel Montebello, Luke Cassar, Jurgen Sammut, Gabriel Grixti, Isaac Grixti, Josef David Mizzi and Mario Genovese (coach).


The Malta Cadets National team in Bratislava has registered a good win against Armenia in a straight 3-0 game, apart from some very close 3-2 matches against Scotland, Switzerland and Bulgaria.


Malta Junior Boys National Doubles Team , Jurgen Sammut / Miguel Montebello , David Pace ( coach ) secure a 3-2 victory against team Iceland/Armenia in the opening round of the European Youth Championships in Slovakia. The Maltese team suffered a close defeat against Kosovo, where the opponents won the match 3-1.


GSSE Iceland 2015

The 16th Edition of the Games of the Small States of Europe, held in Iceland, came to a close with the Maltese Ladies team clenching three bronze medals; in the teams, doubles and singles events.

The team composed of Jessica Pace and Viktoria Lucenkova was coached by Johanna Grech.

The MTTA would like to congratulate the Ladies team for their achievements.

Left to right: Jessica Pace, Johanna Grech (coach), Viktoria Luchenkova

4th Division Champions – HiTT Academy Legends

HiTT Academy Legends have been confirmed as Champions in their followed closely by the runner up, leading to their promotion to the third Division.

From left to right: Katia Mifsud (coach), Elizabeth Galea, Ivan Galea, Manuel Vella, Anthony Bonavia and Raul Heras.

3rd Division Champions – Sharp Shot Supernova

Undefeated throughout the season, the champions claimed the title before the last match of the season was played, since they were three points ahead of the runner up.

From left to right: Silvan Borg, Clarence Psaila, Claude D’Amato and Karol Bednarz.

2nd Division Champions – MITTC Tenergy (St. Benedict)

The MITTC team were crowned champions after winning their final match of the season and surpassing the runner up only by set difference, since both teams scored a total of 37 point throughout the season.

From left to right: Joe Borg Cardona,Marcel Kruger,Miguel Montebello,Josef Mizzi,Evelina Georgieva (not in photo).

Baldacchino and Magri retain Mixed Doubles title

Edward Baldacchino and Dorriane Magri managed to win the Mixed Doubles event for the second time in a row in the Seniors National Championships. The event was full of very close matches that kept going till the seventh set, but the Champions still managed to retain their title.

Daniel Bajada is the Seniors National Champion 2014/15 !! Jessica Pace wins her 8th Ladies National Championship title in a row !!

Daniel Bajada is the Seniors National Champion 2014/15 after reclaiming the title from last year’s Champion Andrew Gambina. The Seniors Doubles event was also won by Daniel Bajada who played alongside Edward Baldacchino, making this their second Doubles Championship title in a row.

Jessica Pace, who will be representing Malta in the GSSEs this year in Iceland, won the Ladies National Championships, keeping her title without dropping a set.

The MTTA would like to congratulate the winners, who showed professional sportsmanship and fair play on and off the table.

Junior National Championship 2014/15 – Largest to date with 230 matches played !!

The MTTA Committee is proud to announce that this year’s Junior National Championship were the largest to date, with an outstanding 230 matches played over last weekend.
The MTTA would also like to thank the local clubs who have managed to bring new players to the local scene, as the number of entries have sharply increased even when compared to last December.
Here is the full list of players who have excelled during these Nationals:
Under 11
Boys Champion: James Vella Vidal
Boys Runner up: Conrad Puli
Girls Champion: Anthea Cutajar
Girls Runner up: Rachel Mifsud
Plate Winner: Davide Micallef
Plate Runner Up: Jacques Vella Borg
Doubles Champions: James Vella Vidal/ Nikki Pace Bonello
Doubles Runners Up: Conrad Puli/ Asaccahia Farrugia
Under 13
Singles Champion: Sacha Pace
Singles Runner up: Ryan Paul Camilleri
Plate Winner: Nigel Galea
Plate Runner Up: Sean Debono
Doubles Champions: Sacha Pace/ Gabriel Melillo
Doubles Runners Up: James Vella Vidal/ Ryan Paul Camilleri
Under 15
Boys Champion: Gabriel Grixti
Boys Runner up: Miguel Montebello
Girls Champion: Haylie Bartolo
Girls Runner up: May Zahra
Plate Winner: Kyle Galea
Plate Runner Up: Jean Claude Tonna
Doubles Champions: Gabriel Grixti/ Isaac Grixti
Doubles Runners Up: Sacha Pace/ Ryan Paul Camilleri
Under 18
Singles Champion: Gabriel Grixti
Singles Runner up: Isaac Grixti
Plate Winner: Miguel Montebello
Plate Runner Up: Therese Genovese
Doubles Champions: Gabriel Grixti/ Isaac Grixti
Doubles Runners Up: Jurgen Sammut/ Luke Cassar
Under 21
Boys Champion: Daniel Bajada
Boys Runner up: Andrew Gambina
Girls Champion: Jessica Pace
Girls Runner up: Therese Genovese
Plate Winner: Luca Balzan
Plate Runner Up: Christian Degiorgio
Doubles Champions: Daniel Bajada/ Ryan Tabone
Doubles Runners Up: Andrew Gambina/ Gabriel Grixti
Well done to all.
Andrea Portelli
Tournament Manager